BigRogers Photos

BigRogers_Web

BigRogers was a member of the group 16-17 sound system with Daniel Buess, Christian Lichtenberg, Roger Graf and Alex Buess as well as Cortex with Alex Buess, Daniel Buess and Roger Graf as X-TRAK-T. Roger Graf was originally specialized in special effects in film and video productions. Actually coming from the film, he has recently turned more and more to photography.

… big variable amounts of light …

Both in his video works as well as in photography he is not necessarily interested in digitally generated effects but rather analogue generated edits. These include Blue- and Greenscreen, selection of special projection surfaces including video and slide projection on body parts or special lighting techniques, such as moving color surfaces. The light in large, varying quantities plays an important role in BigRogers photo technology. Flooding with light creates new structures, while slide projections onto certain areas of the body create a kind of tattoo effect, which becomes apparent in his Totem Series 2017, for example.

… instrument directly influenceable …

You could possibly achieve similar effects through digital image editing, only the digital editing is much less direct. By projecting e. g. slides, which are indeed an intense light source, it is possible to make the photographic process much more immediate. This immediacy is akin to playing an instrument in music: while the digital editing of a photograph is mainly done with “samples” of an image, the result is much more dynamic when projecting directly onto a body. The light becomes a directly influenceable instrument of the photographer.

… origin of this kind of photography in the pre-digital era …

The origin of this type of photography is mainly in the pre-digital era. At that time special effects and miniatures were to a large extent realized through film and slide projections. An impressive example of this is the film “Altered States”, written in 1980 by Ken Russell.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Altered_States

In this film, the most impressive psychedelic effects for that time without computer technology are achieved mainly through projections.

 

Totem Series 2017 © Roger Graf

Bucello_7 Bucello_8 Bucello_9 Bucello_10 Bucello_11 Bucello_12 Bucello_13 Bucello_14 Bucello_15 Bucello_16 Bucello_17 Bucello_18 Bucello_19 Bucello_20 Bucello_21 Bucello_22 Bucello_23 Bucello_24 Bucello_25

 

 

Portrait Series 2017 © Roger Graf

Bucello-2-_32 Bucello-2-_31 Bucello-2-_30 Bucello-2-_29 Bucello-2-_28 Bucello-2-_25 Bucello-2-_24 Bucello-2-_23 Bucello-2-_20 Bucello-2-_19 Bucello-2-_18 Bucello-2-_17 Bucello-2-_16 Bucello-2-_15 Bucello_33 Bucello_32 Bucello_31 Bucello_30 Bucello_29 Bucello_28 Bucello_27 Bucello_26 Bucello_6 Bucello_5 Bucello_4 Bucello_3 Bucello_2 Bucello_1 Bucello_0

Language:

BigRogers Fotos

BigRogers_Web

BigRogers war Mitglied der Gruppe16-17 Soundsystem mit Daniel Buess, Christian Lichtenberg, Roger Graf und Alex Buess und Cortex mit Alex Buess, Daniel Buess und Roger Graf unter dem Namen X-TRAK-T. Roger Graf war ursprünglich spezialisiert auf Spezialeffekte in Film- und Videoproduktionen. Eigentlich vom Film herkommend, hat er sich in letzter Zeit mehr und mehr auch der Fotografie zugewandt.

„…grosse, varierende Mengen von Licht…“

Sowohl bei seinen Videoarbeiten als auch bei der Fotografie interessieren ihn nicht unbedingt digital erzeugte Effekte sondern vielmehr analoge Bearbeitungen. Dazu gehören Blue- und Greenscreen, Auswahl spezieller Projektionsflächen unter anderem Video und Diaprojektion auf Körperteile oder spezielle Beleuchtungstechniken, wie zum Beispiel wandernde Farbflächen. Das Licht in grossen, varierenden Mengen spielt in BigRogers Fototechnik eine bedeutende Rolle. Durch Überflutung mit Licht entstehen neue Strukturen: durch Diaprojektionen auf bestimmte Körperflächen entstehen eine Art Tatooeffekte, die zum Beispiel bei seiner Totem Serie 2017 sichtbar werden.

„…unmittelbar beeinflussbares Instrument…“

Man könnte eventuell ähnliche Effekte durch digitale Bildbearbeitung erreichen, nur ist die digitale Berabeitung viel weniger direkt. Durch Aufprojizieren z. B. von Dias, die ja eine intensive Lichtquelle sind, wird es möglich den fotografischen Prozess viel unmittelbarer zu gestalten. Diese Unmittelbarkeit ist vergleichbar mit dem Spielen eines Instruments in der Musik: während bei der digitalen Bearbeitung einer Fotografie hauptsächlich mit „Samples“ eines Bildes gearbeitet wird, ist bei der direkten Projektion auf einen Körper das Resultat viel dynamischer. Das Licht wird zum direkten unmittelbar beeinflussbaren Instrument des Fotografen.

„…Ursprung dieser Art von Fotografie in der vordigitalen Zeit…“

Der Ursprung dieser Art von Fotografie ist hauptsächlich in der vordigitalen Zeit zu suchen. In jener Zeit wurden Spezialeffekte nebst Miniaturen zu einem grossen Teil durch Film- und Diaprojektionen realisiert. Ein eindrückliches Beispiel dafür ist der 1980 entstandene Film Altered States (dt: der Höllentrip) von Ken Russell.

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Der_H%C3%B6llentrip

In diesem Film werden die für jene Zeit äusserst eindrücklichen psychedelischen Effekte ohne Computertechnik hauptsächlich durch Projektionen erreicht.

 

Totem Serie 2017 © Roger Graf

Bucello_7 Bucello_8 Bucello_9 Bucello_10 Bucello_11 Bucello_12 Bucello_13 Bucello_14 Bucello_15 Bucello_16 Bucello_17 Bucello_18 Bucello_19 Bucello_20 Bucello_21 Bucello_22 Bucello_23 Bucello_24 Bucello_25

 

 

Porträt Serie 2017 © Roger Graf

Bucello-2-_32 Bucello-2-_31 Bucello-2-_30 Bucello-2-_29 Bucello-2-_28 Bucello-2-_25 Bucello-2-_24 Bucello-2-_23 Bucello-2-_20 Bucello-2-_19 Bucello-2-_18 Bucello-2-_17 Bucello-2-_16 Bucello-2-_15 Bucello_33 Bucello_32 Bucello_31 Bucello_30 Bucello_29 Bucello_28 Bucello_27 Bucello_26 Bucello_6 Bucello_5 Bucello_4 Bucello_3 Bucello_2 Bucello_1 Bucello_0

Sprache: